An update

A few days after my last post my joint pain escalated again so I realised the Autoimmune Protocol was not helping at all and started to eat delicious whole foods such as nuts, tomatoes, potatoes, peppers and eggs (I’m sorry I accused you eggs, all is forgiven) again.

I decided to try a couple of other strategies.  First strategy is to give up all forms of sugar, I started this on Thursday after breakfast ( I had some raspberries I need to use up in a breakfast smoothie first!).  2 days later my knee pain has disappeared, which was quite surprising seeing as walking even a short distance has aggravated it over the last 2 months.  On Friday I went to Aerobics and it was amazing to be able to use that leg again without thinking if a certain move is going to leave me in pain for the rest of the day.

It’s not all rainbows and sunshine though as my hand and foot pain has been quite high.  The other food I am suspecting of causing me problems is coffee.  I really don’t know how it sneaked back in there again, but this morning we ran out and I am not going to purchase any more.  I have not decided yet whether to cut out black tea but if I do I will do this gradually.  I will probably continue with no sugar for two weeks before I test no caffeine at all.

Since I reintroduced eggs breakfast has become so exciting to me again!  On Friday we had courgette (zucchini) pancakes with bacon and it was so delicious.

WP_000215

Even something as simple as eggs scrambled with broccoli and onions tastes like a treat!

WP_000212

This morning we had sausages with a fried egg and potatoes sautéed with broccoli, peppers and onions.  I was eating it thinking:  “This is so delicious, I must take a picture before I gobble it all up!

WP_000218

 

I am surprised that I’m not finding it harder to give up fruit though, I suppose it’s because I have re-introduced nuts and so can snack on those instead, I always think the key is to focus on the foods you can eat rather than those you can’t!

 

One response

Leave a Reply

