Day 4 – Thinking about starch

Starch is an interesting thing – there are a lot of different diets out there that cut out starch and people with completely different conditions have benefited from this change.  I have 3 books aimed a different groups of people that are similar

a) IBS low starch diet

b) GAPS (Gut And Psychology Syndrome) diet (mainly aimed at people on the autistic spectrum)

c) SCD (Specific Carbohydrate Diet) aimed at people with Crohns and Colitis

What so bad about starch that people with completely different conditions benefit from drastically reducing their consumption?  Must be to do with the gut flora, makes you think about how amazing they are if they can affect such a wide range of conditions.

Anyway, that’s enough “blah blah blah” from me, what did I eat and how did I feel?  Lets get on with it.

Breakfast: Green smoothie same as a couple of days ago

Snack: Apple and 7 prunes

lunch: leftover stir fry veg from last night, smoked salmon, kimchi.  Also I made these amazing toast coconut chips.

snack: 1 blood orange

Dinner: I made this but I served it with fake tagliatelle made with celeriac and added some liver to the sauce.

Joint pain was similar to previous few days, I also woke up with an itchy throat but not as bad as previous night.

Leave a comment